City Council


Council meets the first, second, third and fourth weeks of the month at 6:00 p.m. in council chambers located at 105 Milwaukee Mall. Two of those meetings (the first and third Monday) are regular meetings where action is officially taken on items. The other two meetings are planning sessions held on the Wednesday of the week after each regular meeting. These meetings are where  information is presented to the council but no official action is taken. There are also special meetings held occasionally on an as needed basis. The regular meetings are taped for airing on the local public access network. 

City council recently conducted a session to identify and prioritize city goals for the next few years.  Click here to see the current list.




Agendas & Minutes

Minutes for each meeting are published in the Charles City Press. One of the first items on each regular agenda is a Citizen’s Comments item. This allows citizens a maximum time of five minutes to address any item that is not included on the agenda. The council can not take any official action on these items at that time. Agendas are posted at city hall prior to each meeting. Click here to see prior agendas and minutes.



The City Council consists of five members elected at large, we have no wards. Each term is four years and they are staggered so that not everyone is up for election at the same time. Each council member is also a member of several boards and commissions to serve as a representative of the entire council.  To see a copy of this committee list, click here.  These appointments are made each year by the mayor.

Our current council members and their terms are as follows:

NameTerm Expires
Patrick LumleyDecember 31, 2025
DeLaine Freeseman, Mayor Pro TemDecember 31, 2025
Phoebe PittmanDecember 31, 2023
Phillip KnightenDecember 31, 2023
Keith StarrDecember 31, 2023